Texas Education

Blog on Texas Education

Archive for June 16th, 2008

Few options offered for Texas schools facing closure

Posted by Texas Education on June 16, 2008

A story by Eric Mellon, she is the reporter who put me in the Chronicle. I felt like a real celebrity, except for the fact I thought I was going to lose my job at Oak Village. Well, I didn’t, but that quote has followed me on the internet highway every since it was published over a year ago. She’s put Oak Village in the papers once again, only this time it didn’t come from me. Nope, it could possibly be one to face the chopping block. See her story here.

Posted in Texas schools | Tagged: , | Leave a Comment »

This one’s for teachers!!

Posted by Texas Education on June 16, 2008

This is a fantastic, powerful video, teachers should take a gander. I have to warn you though, it’s almost 8 minutes long. But, it’s the best eight minutes you will enjoy in a long time. If I had had the chance to have my second year at KPark, I was planning on utilizing some of what this video has to say. Most of my students had ipods, cell phones, text messaging, and they used it. I also wanted to do some blogging, but I was so overwhelmed with getting the basics up and running. It takes time to learn and then teach something new, especially software and computer related stuff. Enjoy…

Posted in teaching | Tagged: , | Leave a Comment »

Obama – Vouchers, What?¿?

Posted by Texas Education on June 16, 2008

I don’t even want to say that in the same breath. (see State of…blog) She reports that Obama says: “he is open to supporting private school vouchers if research shows they work.” Must get message to Obama – vouchers not good for states, schools, teachers, parents or students. I said I was for Hillary, that she was more public education friendly, didn’t I ?¿? Ok, I’m getting off vouchers, I’m against them, end of story.

Posted in vouchers | Tagged: , , | 1 Comment »

Newsworthy

Posted by Texas Education on June 16, 2008

Summing up a school is the heading for the editorial in today’s Chon. Wharton Elementary is on the chopping block for HISD’s beginning of the end. Wow, talk about “cutting off your nose to spite your face.” This is what I see happening to our “Education Crisis in Texas.” Oh, there’s a saying I take credit for. Check out their website. What a waste that is going on. This school, with their organized, small army of Montrose residents coalition, has been diligently working to rectify this situation. This is a school we should all look to as success. Their students (all of them) graduate as dual-language sixth-graders. They passed the math TAKS with 100%, how often does that happen? Along with being able to take the TAKS in either English or Spanish. It goes on to explain, oohh and this ain’t good, that HISD refuses to act with transparency and respond to local input. Zowee, does that sound familiar?? This was said by the activist and at least one board member. Ouch!!

This is what we are up against. Which leg, arm, finger, foot do we cut off first? I just got back from my doctor. I am officially on diabetic medication, yikes!! A while back I was almost hired by him to tutor his young daughter who is struggling with her speech. I asked him how she was doing, and at the time he had decided to put her in a private school, cause of course he can afford that, he’s a doctor. But, guess what?? (see vouchers part one & deux) he says the private school does not cater to special needs students, thus his decision to put her in a public school now, where she can get the best education possible. Wow, how’s that for an I told ya so???

I was trying to understand what happened at the Republican convention on vouchers – so like I always do, I googled it. Here it is, put that in your pipe and smoke it:

pp.14 -17: Education

p.14: Supports school vouchers.

p.15: “We call for the abolition of the U.S. Department of Education and the prohibition of the transfer of any of its functions to any other federal agency.”

When the Rev. Jerry Falwell was just creating the Moral Majority, he envisioned the future of this country:

“I hope to see the day when, as in the early days of our country, we don’t have public schools. The churches will have taken them over again and Christians will be running them.” (America Can Be Saved!, Sword of the Lord Publishers, Murfreesboro, Tenn. 1979, p. 52-53.)

This is why we should never ever speak of being in favor of vouchers. (I guess you could say this is vouchers- part deux (a).) This is what the goal is of the pro-voucherers. Seems they keep forgetting our Texas Constitution says, or what Wikipedia says the Texas Constitution says:

Article 7: “Education”

Establishes provisions for public schools, asylums, and universities. “. . . it shall be DUTY OF THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE to establish and make suitable provision for the support and maintenance of an efficient system of public free schools” (Article 7, Texas Constitution). This issue has surfaced in recent lawsuits involving the State’s funding of education and restrictions it has placed on local school districts.

Read it and weep…

Just remember no truer words were spoken by Horace Mann, “Education then, beyond all other devices of human origin, is the great equalizer of the conditions of men, the balance-wheel of the social machinery.” Ask your state officials, how they were educated? I’m finding a lot of them have family ties to educators. How can they justify what they are doing to our education system? Enough for now, getting tired.

Posted in In-the-news, Texas schools, vouchers | Tagged: , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.