Texas Education

Blog on Texas Education

212º

Posted by Texas Education on June 19, 2008

This just in, I got an update from something that I also truly believe in…Simple Truths! It sure speaks on common sense values. I don’t profess to be an extremely religious person, (though I am a cradle Episcopalian,) but I do believe a lot in character. I believe in being the best you can be, be true to yourself, and respect others. The updates I get are so inspirational, and today’s is no exception. What they sent was an excerpt from the book, the video, (is shown below).

what I got from the update:

One of the beauties of “The Extra Degree Concept” is in its many applications. With the movie or the book you can emphasize 212° service, 212° attitude, 212° commitment, 212° leadership, and the list goes on. In the back of the 212° book, I wrote eight short chapters using stories to reinforce each “extra degree” point. I’d like to share the one I wrote on 212° kindness:

One of my favorite things to do is waking up early on Sunday morning, getting the Sunday paper, making a hot cup of coffee and kicking back to read about what’s going on in the world. It’s my quiet time…my time alone to reflect and relax.

One Sunday morning about halfway through my little ritual, I spotted a headline that read “Graduating Student Credits His ‘Angel'”…and I began to read. A young man who was graduating from college told the story about how Oral Lee Brown was his “Real Life Angel.” In 1987 Brown, a real estate agent in Northern California, saw a young girl in her neighborhood begging for money. When she went to the school the girl had claimed to attend, Brown couldn’t find her; but that day she made a decision that would change the lives of many other children forever. She adopted an entire first-grade class in one of Oakland’s lowest-performing schools, and she pledged that she personally would pay for anyone who wanted to attend college.

This would be a great story even if Oral Lee Brown were independently wealthy; however, it is a much greater story considering she was a former cotton picker from Mississippi, making $45,000 a year and raising two children of her own.

Brown lived up to her pledge. Since 1987, she’s personally saved $10,000 a year while also raising donations for her “adopted first-grade kids.” And because of her tremendous act of unselfish love, children who could have been “swallowed by the streets” are now graduating from college to pursue their dreams.

We all seek our purpose in life. Most of us wonder how we can make a positive difference during our brief time on this earth. But asking and doing are different things. Oral Lee Brown embodies what 212° kindness is all about.

The irony of this, I had a student show me a powerful video this year (he was very dedicated to football,) and that I just got an update on from Simple Truths. It’s called 2120. This is another extremely powerful video, simple but the truth! You are now aware…You now have a target for everything you do…2120

Leave a Reply

 
