Texas Education

Blog on Texas Education

North Forest In-the-news

Posted by Texas Education on June 19, 2008

“State puts North Forest school district on probation.” Ericka Mellon reports on the critical despair of North Forest ISD. Ok, many people I talk to about North Forest (where I worked last year,) I either get an “oh my,” or a “where is that?” Meaning, either people know about North Forest’s rap (and I’m not talking about song,) or they’ve just never heard of the place. When I interviewed with them, I had never heard of them either. But I had gotten some advice from a dear friend who said, “don’t go there.” Well, I was desperate, and I did. But, I do not regret it, not for a minute. I learned so much as a first year teacher, one big thing I learned is that teachers are teachers, where ever you go. They are the most wonderful and dedicated people put on this earth. I think everyone of ear shot of this should, “hug a teacher, no make that kiss a teacher.” Oh, better scratch that, that might get some in trouble, unless of course, you are married to them or something like that. I digress. There’s really not much to this story other than what we know already. Just that things are actually happening. Erica has blogged on School Zone (one of my favorite blogs-see right) on this story today, including some things that missed the paper, for more on this story.

Leave a Reply

 
