Texas Education

Blog on Texas Education

Randy Pausch – ‘the last lecture’ – died Friday

Posted by Texas Education on July 27, 2008

Randy Pausch, the Carnegie Mellon University computer scientist whose “last lecture” about facing terminal cancer became an Internet sensation and a best-selling book, died Friday. He was 47. He died at his home in Chesapeake, Va. Randy was diagnosed with incurable pancreatic cancer in September 2006. His popular last lecture at Carnegie Mellon in September 2007 garnered international attention and was viewed by millions on the Internet. In it, he celebrated living the life he had always dreamed of instead of concentrating on impending death.

“The lecture was for my kids, but if others are finding value in it, that is wonderful,” Pausch wrote on his Web site. “But rest assured; I’m hardly unique.”

What a great, great guy, he is going to be sorely missed, so missed. I knew this day would come, I just didn’t want it to. To appreciate life, you have to view his ‘last lecture.’ My favorite part is the part about his ‘new’ car! And being a ‘tigger.’ I consider myself a tigger, surprised?

Please, please check out this fantastic video. This is the video I liked, it’s only 11 minutes long, not over an hour (the original lecture.) This is the one where Randy was on Oprah. I love this video and have fewed it over and over again. I showed it to my classes. This was an amazing guy. The world has lost a truly, truly great person. He was the epitome of education. Please do comment on this video after you watch it.

more on this story.

Leave a Reply

 
