Texas Education

Blog on Texas Education

Tourette Syndrome and me

Posted by Texas Education on September 21, 2008

Interesting that I’ve been blogging for approx. 4 months now. Seems things are surely kicking. Some controversial stuff, some informative stuff and some this and that stuff. But one thing, and especially since it is near and dear to me, that I have not blogged on is Tourette Syndrome. I had a real epiphany tonight, sitting in the dark, hearing the hummmm of our’s and our neighbors’ generators (I swear when they stop I will be lost or will still hear them in my head, don’t know which will be worse.) But, anywho…back to my epiphany, I’m on a list serve of many friends family that I’ve known for almost as long as I’ve been in Texas which is going on 10 years now. I was a stay at home mom and had just had my son diagnosed with TS. Me the computer geek that I am, (was then too,) I found Sunrise Tourette. They have saved my life more than once and they are always there when I need them. One of our members just started a blog, hence my epiphany. So, just thought I’d throw that bit of personal irony out there.

My son is 19 now but we still have to deal with this issue, it never goes away. I only hope it has made me a better mother and a stronger person, cause it sure has been a roller coaster ride for the last 10+ years. I do know one thing, I have found friends I would never have known, I have forged friendships, learned from and helped others with this disorder.

Get Involved:

ACTION ALERT!!!
MENTAL HEALTH PARITY CAN PASS – WRITE TO YOUR LEGISLATORS.
Click here.

TWO IMPORTANT SURVEYS
ADULTS WITH TS – CHILDREN WITH TS
Please Give Us Your Time
Dr. Douglas Woods and colleagues from the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee, along with several members from our national TSA Medical Advisory Board, have embarked on 2 important and extensive data collecting projects designed to gather important information about Adults and Children with Tourette Syndrome (TS) and Chronic Tic Disorders. To learn more, please click here.

JOIN TSA – click here

TEAM TSA – Run the Beach in Hawaii, the Midnight Sun Run in Alaska, Kids Run at Disney, ride a Bike tour in NYC…
ONE LAP CLOSER TO A CURE
click here

GRASSROOTS ACTION – become a local TS Grassroots Activist – read how

EDUCATION ADVOCACY
TSA’s FREE resources will show you the way — and you can “ASK TSA” when you need a little guidance – click here

PARTICIPATE IN TSA’S BRAIN BANK
PROGRAM
Read about it

TSA NEEDS YOUTH AMBASSADORS
Learn How to Become One!

TSA’S NATIONAL CONFERENCE – Click here to read about and view photos of April 2008 Conference. Our next National Conference will be in the Spring of 2010.

“I HAVE TOURETTE’S BUT
TOURETTE’S DOESN’T HAVE ME”
Emmy Award Winning HBO video
View Video Clip Free Teacher’s Guide
Order the DVD from our Online Store

NEWLY DIAGNOSED Video Webstream
with Dr. John Walkup
– click here

FOR MEDICAL/ALLIED PROFESSIONALS
– CME, CNE, Behavior Therapy Webstreams. Click here to register/view

TSA’s NEWSLETTERS – FREE Children’s and Young Adults newsletters; TSA’s Quarterly Newsletter-read cover-free; join TSA to read all

SELF ESTEEM-video for Adults-click here

OT Webstream
– click here to view.

Leave a Reply

 
