Texas Education

Blog on Texas Education

Cheerleading debacle at Atascocita High School

Posted by Texas Education on November 18, 2008

Wow, I was at the board meeting a few months back when a bunch, I do mean a bunch, of parents were a hooping and a hollering about some “injustice” being done on their beloved cheerleaders. Suffice it to say, I’m not a huge cheerleading fan. Cliques, is an understatement, and I will expand upon that later. At the board meeting, which I actually spoke at, giving a thumbs up on our water polo endeavors, though things can change ever so quickly, and they have, and more on that in another post. There is an article in the Tribune about parents up in arms about a student that was allowed back into the squad, though she did not make the tryouts this year. I’m still not clear on the whole issue, one, even why it’s an issue. The big deal (IMHO) is a policy was changed for one girl, who’s parents apparently made a stink, and the rest of the team and their parents were up in arms over that policy change by the board.

The student in question was awarded the position based on her previous membership in the program and her following elimination at tryouts. The ruling changed the policy retroactively, at Principal Donna Rovigno’s discretion, and was upheld by Associate Superintendent Paula Almond.

So, why am I here, why do I even give a rats patootie? Well, some parents have filed a law suit against the school district. OMG!

David and Maria Paulus brought a Level III grievance against the district following the addition of a varsity cheerleader five months into the year. According to the Pauluses, the addition was a violation of the handbook, which states that all members must try out, regardless of previous position on the squad or class level.

Mr. Paulus states in the article, “‘You are virtually crippling this person, because they now believe that they can get whatever they want, despite rules,” said Paulus. “We want to teach our students life lessons,” he said.” Dave Martin, school board president says, “I want inclusion. These aren’t 25-year-old women that need to be taught a lesson. When we went down this path to making smaller learning communities, we gave students the opportunity to be involved.” And Dan Huberty also says, “Our focus as a district is to be inclusive and let children participate. Has there been harm done?” I have to totally agree with both of these board members.

I also like to use the saying, “don’t sweat the small stuff.” Based on what our students, teachers, parents, administrators and district have been going through, to bring a law suit to this district, only intensifies and exacerbates our problems. The parent goes on to say, “Harmony of the team has been shaken this year,” said Paulus, and added that cliques had been formed as a result of the controversy. Um? The harmony has been shaken because a student that had previously been on the team didn’t qualify, but was put on the team anyway? I’m sorry, but this sure smells of a bunch of whiny parents. Of course, I don’t know the whole story, but based on what I’ve seen and what I’ve read, these people need to get a life. I may be a bit blunt, but with our economy, schools in crisis, teachers and positions being eliminated, great programs being cut, this seems a bit petty. And even when I was in high school, seems cheerleading and cliques were synonymous, weren’t they, and aren’t they still?

Yeah, many will argue that this was, maybe, not right. Some were hurt and maybe an injustice was done. But to the degree of a LAWSUIT? And unfortunately, the Tribune misspelled Ms. Rovegno’s first name, for the record it is Dania!

4 Responses to “Cheerleading debacle at Atascocita High School”

  1. arianalaine said

    I am a member of the Atascocita cheerleading squad in question in this blog. I would just like to set some facts straight, instead of letting everyone think we’re just a bunch of snobby, whiny, cheerleaders.

    First off, the Pauluses did not sue the school district, nor did they threaten to. The girl in questions parents were the ones who threatened to sue in order to get her on back on the squad. So who’s the whiny parents “intensifying and exacerbating” the problem? hmm.

    Second off, it was a big deal for her to be reinstated on a squad she did not deserve to be on. The previous year she was only an alternate for one. And a lazy one at that. She did not help the squad get ready for competitions, was not supportive, and when a girl was injured, refused to step in and compete with us. Clearly not a girl who deserved a second chance on a squad she did not earn a place on to begin with.

    This year is over, and I would like to state that she was once again, uninvolved and unsupportive. She quietly sat there and did nothing to help the squad. Not necessarily in the way, but not an asset. Now new problems have rolled around with try outs, once again, because the school board and principals can’t seem to keep their noses out of our business. But if you are sooo lucky to attend the next board meeting regarding this new issue, I’ll be looking forward to seeing your catty remarks about all the whiny cheer parents on your blog.

    Thanks.

    • Well, I’m glad you had this forum to set the record straight and get it off your chest. Are you surprised by this action of the parents? I’m not. It’s typical. There are so many out there who want something without working for it. “It’s due them” mentality. All I can say is “what goes around comes around.” Do you think this girl is going to go far in life if her parents bully everyone in letting her do things. Someday she is going to have to face the music, don’t ya think? And either her parents won’t be there to help, or they won’t be able to help.

  2. peepers2 said

    You lost all credibility of holding a considerable argument at “of course, I don’t know the whole story.”
    “get a life”? Come on, for being ignorant of the whole story, (as you have admitted to being) that’s another argument by which you have no means of proving.

    Rain check on writer eligibility anyone?

    I happen to know the whole story, my friend, so I’ll share a little wisdom with ya.
    In life you do not always get what you want; when hard work is put in and a desirable outcome is met, victory is so sweet; When, and this is VERY common, you work hard and you do not get a desired outcome it is wise to evaluate oneself and focus on “what can I bring to the table else where, and what can I learn to improve upon?”; when your passions and rights are imposed upon, even if you know the battle will be lost, it takes a weak to do nothing.

    This is the land of opportunity, hard work, incentive, innovative thinking, where integrity is and must be a constant strive.

    Who are we if we do not stand for these things, no matter how big or small?
    Think of Gandhi, Rosa Parks, Walden, and yes the very founding father’s of this
    great country; a seed will grow with water and sunlight just as a weed will overcome
    an entire garden if you allow it.

    I’m not doubting your integrity; just wanted to share some “food for thought”

    Thanks,

    R.M.P.

    • I’m sorry, I’m not sure I understand why, when I say I don’t know the whole story, I can’t comment on what I DO know?

      “Rain check on writer eligibility anyone? ” Writer has blog, writer can express writers opinions, eh? What gives you the right to say this? Just because you are a part of “cheerleading” you are all wise and knowing? My kids have been a part of extracurricular sports, I think that gives me some cred.

      “I happen to know the whole story, my friend, so I’ll share a little wisdom with ya. In life you do not always get what you want; when hard work is put in and a desirable outcome is met, victory is so sweet; When, and this is VERY common, you work hard and you do not get a desired outcome it is wise to evaluate oneself and focus on “what can I bring to the table else where, and what can I learn to improve upon?”; when your passions and rights are imposed upon, even if you know the battle will be lost, it takes a weak to do nothing. This is the land of opportunity, hard work, incentive, innovative thinking, where integrity is and must be a constant strive. ”

      Sounds like you are just plain old preaching here. I don’t argue with that logic, so I fail to see your opposition. Life is not always fair, in this area I do have some credibility! You know who I am, would like to know who rayraypeep55 is.

Leave a Reply

 
