Texas Education

Blog on Texas Education

Are Hispanics underrepresented in North Forest?

Posted by Texas Education on August 11, 2008

The Chron says today, last year, Hispanic students made up nearly 30 percent of the district overall, but that there are no Hispanics on the board. Well, if North Forest is not in the news, the Chron will in fact put them there. Why? I’m not sure. This is a weird article, IMHO. I understand what they are saying, but isn’t the board voted in? Don’t the people of the district have that option to vote? I’m all for representation, for what ever you are talking about. But, why this, why now? I do have an Hispanic friend/colleague that I worked with at North Forest ISD, who often spoke about running for the board. And I sure do plan on calling him and asking him if he still plans on running. This seems like a good opportunity. More on the story here.

Leave a comment